Moving cities, new jobs and growing up

It has been over three months since I blogged. For someone who has been blogging regularly for two years, even when there is not much to, it really has been a long time.

Even if I had been writing till November, it was hardly just one blog post since July 2018 compared to four or five prior to that. Delhi really did get to me, it would seem, more than I let on. Not always in a good way.

There was so much happening during my time there that it sometimes was overwhelming just to keep up. There were so many unfortunate events starting from my grandmother’s death to dealing with selfish and immature people. It was unfortunate indeed.

I had to shift my house thrice – moving to Delhi, once within Delhi and then to Bengaluru. That is right. I changed my city again in the same year. This makes it the third city within the span of the year – Chennai, New Delhi and Bengaluru. I have come  a full circle, haven’t I?

It is quite difficult getting used to different cities and shifting is a big pain. Changes did not stop with the city though. I also changed my job from BusinessLine to Moneycontrol. From a newspaper to digital platform, where I’m still learning the ropes.  

But somehow a new city and new beginnings excite me. It is like beginning life anew- from a clean slate. It makes me excited. Meeting new people,  exploring new places and trying out local delicacies. What is not to love about them? But…

There is always a ‘but’.  As you grow older it is not always easy to just fit into the crowd. You get set in your ways and you never go out of your way to meet people. You need to make an extra effort to get out of your comfort zone, experiment with what works for you and what does not.  You learn and unlearn a lot. 

When I left Delhi, I barely made a dent in the capital city. There was no love lost or found. But there was a lot I learnt and unlearnt there. I’m not sure what Bengaluru has in store for me. I hope to fare better in Bengaluru than I did in Delhi! 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.