Cocktail, mocktail and Coffeetail?

Vanilla shakerato, a coffeetail made using hot espresso and vanilla syrup
Vanilla shakerato, a coffeetail made using hot espresso and vanilla syrup

I have never tasted a cocktail though I know many. I love the sound of Daiquiri and who doesn’t love a Martini or a Margarita. For people like me, mocktails are the best. I love the blend of fruits that give mocktails unique taste. 

But have you ever heard of coffeetails? If there ever was one that would be my cup of, shall we say, tail.

As it happens there really is a concept called coffeetail, which I got to brew at the Lavazza training centre.

Abdul Sahid Khan, Head Trainer at the Lavazza training centre, said, “We use cold brew to make coffeetails, which is a cocktail or mocktail equivalent you could say. We experimented with few clients who love coffee. Coffeetails usually go well with vodka or fruit juices like cherry.” The brew is predominant in the West, especially in Europe.

Abdul took out a cold brew (cold espresso) jar from refrigerator and began to explain how a cold brew is made. You take 250 ml of espresso brewed from coarse coffee powder, mix it with 250 ml of water and refrigerate the mixture. “You use coarse coffee as they absorb moisture better whereas smooth coffee powder leaves a sediment,” he explained. The mixture is soaked for 16-18 hours after which it can be used to make coffeetails. It has a shelf life of five days.

“Cold brew has more caffeine content than hot brew like espresso. It is more because when you prepare cold brew, espresso is seeped in water for 16-18 hours. The more it is seeped, more concentrated caffeine becomes,” he said. Cold brew is a rage now as many corporate coffee houses use this to start a new beverage line.

Abdul said, “Now it is time for you to make your own drink,” with a laugh. “OK,” I said with uncertainty. He placed a bottle of cherry syrup and cold brew and a cocktail glass filled with shaved ice on the table in front of me. “The drink you are going to make is a combination of wild cherry syrup, cold brew and shaved ice,” he said. “So start making,” he instructed.

So I poured cherry syrup into the cup first and then added cold brew. “Depending on how you like the drink, you can add cherry syrup or coffee more to your drink,” Abdul added. I added full bottle of coffee and syrup to the drink and mixed them using a glass stick. Then I sipped it. I liked the sweetness and sourness from the syrup and bitterness of the coffee. It was different and it was a addictive.

Step 1: Cherry syrup and cold brew before mixing
Step 1: Cherry syrup and cold brew before mixing
Step 2: Mixing syrup and cold brew
Step 2: Mixing syrup and cold brew
Coffeetail is ready to be drunk.
Coffeetail is ready.

When it was blazing hot outside, the one drink I had just was not enough. So I requested for another. “What about vanilla shakerato?” he asked. I said, “What? Sure, why not?”

Abdul put ice cubes in a shaker (it is the same one they use for making cocktails) and added a spoonful or two of vanilla syrup for flavour. The barista said, “Quantity of ice you add should be equal of the size of the glass you drink. In this case, it should be equal to martini glass.” He then brewed espresso and poured it in the shaker. Then he asked me to shake.

“Keep your left palm at the bottom of the shaker and hold the top using your right index finger. Your hands should be raised above your shoulder, then shake,” he instructed. I did.

“Now you can stop,” Abdul said after five minutes.

He took a martini glass to pour the drink from shaker. It had a beautiful brown colour with mild vanilla flavour.

Step 1: Put ice cubes into shaker
Step 1: Put ice cubes equivalent of martini glass into shaker
Step 2: Add vanilla syrup
Step 2: Add vanilla syrup
Step 2: Pour freshly brewed espresso
Step 2: Pour freshly brewed espresso
Step 4: Shake, shake and shake.
Step 4: Shake, shake and shake.
Step 5: Pour the drink into Martini glass.
Step 5: Pour the drink into Martini glass.
Vanilla shakerato is ready and I'm drinking it
Vanilla shakerato is ready and I’m drinking it

It was probably my 10th cup in the session and 12th for the day. When I finished the shakerato, cherishing the cold coffee laced with vanilla, I was high on caffeine.

But that did not deter me. I loved the experience of having been able to learn about my favourite stimulant. I may have overdid a bit but I learnt lot more than I signed up for. I hope I have passed on  my knowledge those who are reading as well.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sowmya says:

    Wow super experience😃 where did u sign up for this😃??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I met the person when I was doing a story on Lavazza India. They invited me for the Coffee tasting workshop. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

